Band Award Winners 2016

Fri Apr, 2016
Band Award Winners 2016

Many of the bands that participated in the Festival parade took part in an international bands competition that was adjudicated during the parade.  An esteemed international judging panel had some challenging decisions to make. The chair of the adjudication panel Dr. Joseph Ryan (IRL)- MA, B.Mus, Mus.Dip, ARIAM, PhD, , sometime Executive Officer Irish Defence Forces Music Service and former Director of Music, Army Number 1 Band.

Ireland was joined by:
Commander Truls Sanaker (N) - Director of the Royal Norwegian Navy Band,
Dr. Matthew George (USA)- Professor of Music, John Ireland Distinguished Professor, Director of Bands and Orchestra and Chair of the Music Department, University of St Thomas, Minnesota USA,
Dr. James Standland (USA), Director, The Pride of Mississippi Assistant Director of Bands, The University of Southern Mississippi
Professor Dennis Zeisler (USA), former President of the American Bandmasters’ Association, and Director of Bands at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia

The winners were:

Best Overall Band:
Shorecrest High School Highlander Marching Band - Washington, USA

Best Youth Band:

John F. Kennedy High School Shamrock Regiment - California, USA

Best Adult Band:
University of Missouri - Missouri, USA

Spirit of the Parade:
Clondalkin Youth Marching Band - Dublin, Ireland

Discretionary Award:
Essex Marching Corps - Essex, UK

Nobody left empty-handed, all bands that performed received a participation award.

Site by RedBloc